Miss Ruby debuts

So it was the dress, the dress that started it all. A few months passed and just dressing up each day wasn’t enough any more. The more often I wore the 1950’s styled clothing, hair and make up the better I felt about them and the more comfortable I became in myself. The self-confidence I had developed was enough to tip me over the edge and start combatting the social anxiety that I had received as a thank you gift for leaving PND untreated for 3 and a half years.

Rockabilly and Pin Up is a little bit quirky, a little bit different and definitely ALWAYS a talking point. Suddenly I wasn’t invisible, conversations with people on the street changed from a generic ‘Hi, how are you?’ to ‘Oh My God, how did you get your hair like that?’ or ‘I love your (dress/skirt/brooch) where did you find it?’ At first it was daunting and a little scary but the more I pushed myself to talk to people the easier it became. Mr Alabaster now dreads any sort of shopping or outing because 12 months on he knows I’ll talk to anyone about anything.

giphy

As I met with people and discussed my new-found love of wearing the style, I learned of the upcoming Greazefest held in Brisbane in August and applied immediately to be a part of the Pin Up parade they offer. I wasn’t successful, but my determination was not broken. I attended the event and soaked in everything it had to offer, I knew I had found at last what I had been missing.

Sad that Greazefest was over for the year, imagine my surprise when I discovered that the annual Redcliffe Festival we attend were holding their first ever Miss Redcliffe pageant. Again my heart soared as I carefully filled in the application form and forwarded it on with hope that I could make it into an event so close to home. Alas I was not successful, however the lovely Bettie Butcher invited all unsuccessful entrants to participate in a fashion parade prior to the finalists taking the stage. This was it! It was my moment! Miss Ruby Alabaster was born….

img_4321

 

The thing I remember was how incredibly lovely the girls were; not one person was judgemental, everyone was friendly and even though they were all in competition it didn’t at all feel like it. The entrants were all genuine lovable people and I have found this to hold true across all aspects of the Pin Up community. Each of the girls enter pageants for different reasons, however, I think the main reason is connection. Connection to the past, connection to new friends, connection to old friends and a connection as a community.

I personally feel so grateful and blessed for the friendships I’ve already made in the short six months I’ve been a part of this world. The strength and support that everyone offers is nothing short of magical! I am so glad that I decided to push myself and try something scary and different.

So tell me, what have you done that you thought you couldn’t?

 

 

One thought on “Miss Ruby debuts

Leave a Reply

